Capital Region News


Emergency Relief Help

Emergency Relief Help

Official Press Release:

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that more than $1.7 million in State funding for emergency relief is being made available for 13 New York counties, cities and towns to help repair local roads and bridges damaged during Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee. The additional funding means communities will only be responsible for paying five percent of overall costs to rebuild critical transportation infrastructure.

“By reducing infrastructure costs for Upstate communities that were hit hard by Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee, we are lightening the financial burden on municipalities and ensuring that New Yorkers can continue to travel safely throughout the State,” Governor Cuomo said. “These storms caused damage that local governments are still recovering from today, and the State is committed to helping these counties, towns and cities throughout the repair process to build back better than ever before.”

Under the initiative, the State will pay 75 percent of the non-federal share of projects eligible for reimbursement through the Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief program. The emergency relief program covers 80 percent of costs for permanent repairs to federal-aid highways and bridges. The 20 percent local share can be overwhelming for some communities to pay for by themselves. The $1.7 million in State funding will reduce a locality’s share to only five percent of overall costs for the permanent repairs.

New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) Commissioner Joan McDonald said, “This funding allows localities to more easily make permanent repairs to roads and bridge in order to maintain safety, mobility and quality of life. Governor Cuomo has long recognized the important link between a strong transportation infrastructure and a strong economy and is reinforcing that today.”

Repairs made during or within 180 days of a disaster that restore essential traffic are 100 percent reimbursed by the federal government. Repairs that occur more than 180 days after a disaster and are meant to restore the roads and bridges to their pre-disaster condition are considered permanent repairs.

Communities across the state will receive a total of $1,742,400 in funding, including:

Capital Region:

  • · Town of New Scotland, Albany County: $400,000
    · Schenectady County: $200,000
    · Rensselaer County: $16,200
    · Greene County: $10,600


  • · Rockland County: $271,500
    · Orange County: $260,450
    · Sullivan County: $39,450

Mohawk Valley:

  • · City of Utica, Oneida County: $38,900
    · Otsego County: $34,880

North Country:

  • · Essex County: $250,000

Southern Tier:

  • · Town of Vestal, Broome County: $146,030
    · Tioga County: $53,630
    · Chenango County: $20,760

More Articles